Practical Problems in Pediatrics

February 15 - 16, 2018
Montréal Québec

Agenda

Thursday, February 15, 2018
7:30 - 8:00 Registration and Continental Breakfast
8:00 - 8:20 Announcements and Quick Quiz Holly Agostino, MD
8:20 - 8:55 Take a Deep Breath: Asthma Updates Beyond the Guidelines David Zielinski, MD Providing safe and effective treatment for asthma remains a challenge despite it being the most common chronic illness of childhood. Stay ahead of the game with expert updates on diagnosis and management.
8:55 - 9:05 QUICK QUIZ
9:05 - 9:40 Parents Know Best! Parent-administered Behavioral Therapy in ADHD Lily Hechtman, MD Parent-administered behavioral therapy interventions are first-line treatment for preschool children with ADHD - not medication. Learn more about these interventions, when to actually initiate stimulants and local resources to tap into for ongoing support.
9:40 - 9:50 QUICK QUIZ
9:50 - 10:25 Positional Problems: Approach to the Infant with Plagiocephaly Roy Dudley, MD When is a misshapen head something more serious? Review the approach to craniosynostosis and positional plagiocephaly with the expert guidance of an experienced pediatric neurosurgeon.
10:25 - 10:35 QUICK QUIZ
10:35 - 11:00 BREAK AND VISIT EXHIBITS
11:00 - 11:35 Sickle Cell Solutions Sharon Abish, MD Review the essential elements of screening and comprehensive care for children with sickle cell disease and their families.
11:35 - 11:45 QUICK QUIZ
11:45 - 12:20 X Marks the Spot: Review of Birthmarks in Infants Fatemeh Jafarian, MD From angel kisses to port-wine stains, all you need to know to address parents' questions and concerns around birthmarks in your practice.
12:20 - 12:30 QUICK QUIZ
12:30 - 13:15 LUNCH
WORKSHOPS

(Each participant will rank these workshops in order of areas of interest and each individual will be assigned to participate in 3 workshops on the basis of order of registrations received.)

13:15 - 14:00 SESSION I
A. Care in the Chair: Approach to the Physical Examination of Children and Youth in a Wheelchair Anne Marie Sbrocchi, MD, and Laurence Gauquelin, MD Practice a suggested approach to the head-to-toe examination of the pediatric patient in a wheelchair. This session also highlights important factors to consider when examining a child with medical complexity.
  B. The Why Behind Choosing Wisely Catherine Nolin, MD, and Nadine Korah, MD Participate in an interactive dialogue on tests or procedures commonly used in the office setting whose true necessity may be debatable. This workshop will allow for open discussion about the need – or lack thereof – of many frequently ordered tests or treatments and why there is a new government focus on reducing medical waste.
  C. Nephrology 101 for the Office Indra Gupta, MD "You got to be kidney me!!!" Work your way through interesting nephrology cases that you might encounter in the office setting with the guidance of an experienced nephrologist.
  D. Breastfeeding Myths and Misconceptions Mylène Dandavino, MD From grandparents to famous celebrities: everyone has an opinion on breastfeeding! Support families in adopting the best breastfeeding practices by debunking common myths and misconceptions with our expert.
  E. Hot Topics in Emergency Medicine Brett Burstein, MD What's hot, new and exciting in emergency medicine? Discuss trendy topics that are making headlines and might influence your daily practice.
  F. All Eyes and Ears: Physical Exam Essentials Hema Patel, MD, and Benjamin Burko, MD A unique hands-on opportunity to practice your examination techniques for the pediatric eyes and ears exam using diagnostic equipment. Common clinical findings and conditions will also be reviewed. (limited to 14 participants per session)
This workshop is now full

14:05 - 14:50 SESSION II (repeat of workshops A to F)
14:50 - 15:15 BREAK AND VISIT EXHIBITS
15:15 - 16:00 SESSION III (repeat of workshops A to F)
16:15 - 17:30 SPECIAL SYMPOSIUM
Let Them Play Ball! Updates on Concussion Management for Children and Youth Alexander Sasha Dubrovsky, MD, and Isabelle Gagnon, MD
Awareness and concerns regarding concussions in the developing brain have grown in recent years. This symposium will provide an update on the latest in pediatric concussion research and its impact on clinical practice.

By the end of this presentation, the learner should be able to:
  • Understand the pathophysiology, presenting symptoms and prognostic factors affecting recovery post-concussion;
  • Identify patients at risk of delayed recovery;
  • Demonstrate awareness of effective interventions and referral criteria for children with concussion.


Friday, February 16, 2018
7:00 - 8:00 Registration and Continental Breakfast
7:30 - 8:30 SPECIAL SYMPOSIUM
New Advances in the Prevention of Invasive Meningococcal Disease Dr. Earl Rubin, Associate Professor, Pediatric Infectious Diseases / Microbiology, The Montreal Children's Hospital, MUHC To come.
8:30 - 8:35 Quick Quiz
8:35 - 9:10 Assessment and Management of Childhood Obesity in Primary Care Laurent Legault, MD Attendees will be provided practical advice on screening guidelines and management of patients with a body mass index over the 85th percentile. Overview of what's needed in a family history, review of systems, physical exam and lab investigations will be discussed.
9:10 - 9:20 QUICK QUIZ
9:20 - 9:55 ABCs of the ADOS Catherine Serra Poirier, PhD This session will review the autism diagnostic observation schedule (ADOS) – a scale used to diagnose individuals with suspected pervasive developmental disorders. Focus will be on what clinicians should look for in their office visits to be able to screen for ASD before referring for further assessment.
9:55 - 10:05 QUICK QUIZ
10:05 - 10:40 Daycare-Itis: Chronic Cough in the Toddler Adam Shapiro, MD Repeated cold and coughs is the norm for kids in daycare but when should you investigate further? This session will provide a practical approach to persistent viral symptoms in toddlers from a respirologist's point of view.
10:40 - 11:05 BREAK AND VISIT EXHIBITS
11:05 - 11:40 Endo 911: Life Threatening Endocrinologic Conditions Preetha Krishnamoorthy, MD Yes, hormones can be deadly – at least when symptoms are not recognized early. This session will focus on common hormonal disorders (diabetic ketoacidosis, hypoglycemia, and adrenal crisis) that can have detrimental effects to patients. How to recognize the early signs and deliver prompt stabilization of the underlying endocrine disorders will be stressed.
11:40 - 11:50 QUICK QUIZ
11:50 - 12:25 When, Where and How Much? The Evidence Behind Early Peanut Exposure Reza Alizadehfar, MD Although many have heard about the advantages of early peanut introduction, few know the evidence behind the guidelines. Do benefits exist for every child and what qualifies as an exposure? What if other allergies already exist? The answers to these and other pertinent peanut problems will be reviewed.
12:25 - 12:30 QUICK QUIZ
12:30 - 13:30 LUNCH
13:30 - 14:05 Digital Dilemmas Sam Freeman, MD What limits should parents place on screen use for young children? Does using digital technology in the early years have lasting negative effects? Are there benefits? This session covers current research around screen time in young children and reviews the Canadian Paediatric Society’s new guidelines to help physicians counsel parents on this topical issue.
14:05 - 14:15 QUICK QUIZ
14:15 - 14:50 Spitting It Out: Office Based GER Management Ana Sant'Anna, MD Reflux is a common condition in young infants. When severe, it can lead to feeding problems, weight loss and family distress. But when is spit up just spit up? What work-up should be done? When should treatment be initiated? This session provides a practical management guide to reflux for infants presenting in the office setting.
14:50 - 15:00 QUICK QUIZ
15:00 - 15:35 Interesting Articles of the Year Stephen Treherne, MD A perennial conference favourite! Don't miss this informative and entertaining review of the past year's most interesting and thought-provoking pediatric articles.
15:35 - 15:45 Wrap-up and Collection of Course Evaluations

Problèmes pratiques en pédiatrie

Les 15-16 février 2018
Montréal Québec

PROGRAMME

Jeudi 15 février 2018
7 h 30 - 8 h Inscription et petit déjeuner continental
8 h - 8 h 20 ANNONCES ET JEU-QUESTIONNAIRE Holly Agostino, MD
8 h 20 - 8 h 55 Soyez à jour : dernières consignes et directives concernant l’asthme chez les enfants David Zielinski, MD Offrir un traitement sûr et efficace pour l’asthme demeure un défi même s’il s’agit de la maladie chronique la plus courante de l’enfance. Retenez votre souffle pour cette mise à jour par nos experts en matière de diagnostic et de prise en charge.
8 h 55 - 9 h 05 JEU-QUESTIONNAIRE
9 h 05 - 9 h 40 Fiez-vous sur les parents! Thérapie comportementale effectuée par les parents en matière de TDAH Lily Hechtman, MD Les interventions de thérapie comportementale assurées par les parents sont un traitement de première intention pour l’enfant d’âge préscolaire atteint de TDAH – et non une approche pharmaceutique. Apprenez-en plus sur ces interventions, à quel moment amorcer les stimulants, et les ressources locales vers lesquelles se tourner pour du soutien.
9 h 40 - 9 h 50 JEU-QUESTIONNAIRE
9 h 50 - 10 h 25 Troubles d’ordre positionnel – Le nourrisson et la plagiocéphalie Roy Dudley, MD À quel moment une forme de tête légèrement différente devientelle un problème grave? Passez en revue la prise en charge de la craniosynostose et de la plagiocéphalie de positionnement sous la direction experte d’un neurochirurgien pédiatrique expérimenté.
10 h 25 - 10 h 35 JEU-QUESTIONNAIRE
10 h 35 - 11 h Pause-santé et visite des exposants
11 h - 11 h 35 Anémie falciforme et solutions Sharon Abish, MD Faites le point sur les éléments essentiels du dépistage, des soins thérapeutiques et de l’approche préventive destinés aux enfants atteints de l’anémie falciforme.
11 h 35 - 11 h 45 JEU-QUESTIONNAIRE
11 h 45 - 12 h 20 Faire sa marque : revue des taches de naissance infantiles Fatemeh Jafarian, MD Du baiser des anges aux taches de vin… tout ce que vous devez savoir dans votre pratique pour répondre aux questions des parents à l’égard des préoccupations concernant les taches de naissance.
12 h 20 - 12 h 30 JEU-QUESTIONNAIRE
12 h 30 - 13 h 15 Dîner
ATELIERS

(Chaque participant classera les ateliers selon ses domaines d’intérêt; trois ateliers seront attribués à chacun, selon l’ordre d’entrée des inscriptions.)

13 h 15 - 14 h SÉANCE I
A. L’examen médical des enfants et des jeunes en fauteuil roulant Anne Marie Sbrocchi, MD, et Laurence Gauquelin, MD Mettez en pratique l’approche suggérée pour l’examen de la tête aux pieds du patient pédiatrique en fauteuil roulant. Cette séance mettra également l’accent sur d’importants facteurs à prendre en considération lors de l’examen d’un enfant avec soins complexes.
  B. Le pourquoi de certains choix… judicieux ou pas Catherine Nolin, MD, et Nadine Korah, MD Participez à une conversation interactive sur les tests ou les procédures couramment employés en cabinet et dont la réelle nécessité est discutable. Cet atelier vise à permettre une franche discussion sur la nécessité – ou non – de nombreux tests ou traitements fréquemment prescrits et sur le pourquoi de l’accent actuel mis par le gouvernement sur la réduction de ces pratiques.
  C. Néphrologie 101 pour le cabinet Indra Gupta, MD C’est à n’y «rein» comprendre! Explorez quelques cas intéressants en néphrologie que vous pourriez rencontrer dans votre cabinet – sous la direction d’une néphrologue d’expérience.
  D. Allaitement : mythes et idées fausses Mylène Dandavino, MD Des conseils de grands-parents aux confidences de vedettes, tout le monde a son mot à dire sur l’allaitement! Aidez les familles à adopter les meilleures habitudes en allaitement en déboulonnant les idées fausses et les mythes les plus courantes.
  E. Sujets brûlants en médecine d’urgence Brett Burstein, MD Tout ce qui est nouveau et passionnant parmi les sujets de l’heure en médecine d’urgence. Discutez des sujets qui font les manchettes et qui pourraient influer sur votre pratique quotidienne.
  F. Ayez l’oeil et soyez tout ouïe! Les bases de l’examen physique Hema Patel, MD, et benjamin Burko, MD Une occasion unique d’apprentissage et de pratique des techniques d’examen des yeux et des oreilles de l’enfant. Les observations et les scénarios cliniques les plus courants seront également passés en revue. (limite de 14 participants par séance)
Cet atelier est maintenant complet

14 h 05 - 14 h 50 SÉANCE II (reprise des ateliers A à F)
14 h 50 - 15 h 15 Pause-santé et visite des exposants
15 h 15 - 16 h SÉANCE III (reprise des ateliers A à F)
16 h 15 - 17 h 30 SYMPOSIUM SPÉCIAL
Qu’ils jouent à la balle ! Faisons le point sur la prise en charge des commotions cérébrales chez l’enfant et l’ado Alexander Sasha Dubrovsky, MD, et Isabelle Gagnon, MD
Depuis quelques années, nous sommes davantage sensibilisés aux conséquences des commotions cérébrales sur le cerveau en développement. Ce symposium entend faire le point sur la recherche récente en matière de commotion cérébrale et de son impact sur la pratique clinique.

À la fin de la présentation, l’auditoire devrait être en mesure de :
  • comprendre la pathophysiologie, les symptômes et les facteurs de pronostic touchant le rétablissement post-commotion;
  • déterminer les patients à risques de rétablissement retardé;
  • démontrer une connaissance des interventions efficaces et des critères de référence en soins spécialisés pour les enfants ayant subi une commotion.


Vendredi 16 février 2018
7 h 00 - 8 h Inscription et petit déjeuner continental
7 h 30 - 8 h 30 SYMPOSIUM SPÉCIAL
Nouveautés dans la prévention des infections invasives aux méningocoques Dr. Earl Rubin, Associate Professor, Pediatric Infectious Diseases / Microbiology, The Montreal Children's Hospital, MUHC description à venir
8 h 30 - 8 h 35 JEU-QUESTIONNAIRE
8 h 35 - 9 h 10 Évaluation et prise en charge de l’obésité juvénile en soins primaires Laurent Legault, MD Conseils pratiques prodigués sur les lignes directrices en matière de dépistage et sur la prise en charge des patients ayant un indice de masse corporelle dépassant le 85e percentile. Sujets discutés : aperçu de ce qu’il faut chercher dans les antécédents familiaux, revue des systèmes, examen physique et analyses en laboratoire.
9 h 10 - 9 h 20 JEU-QUESTIONNAIRE
9 h 20 - 9 h 55 Le B.A.-BA de l’ADOS Catherine Serra Poirier, PhD Cette séance sera consacrée à l’échelle d'observation pour le diagnostic de l'autisme (en anglais, ADOS) – échelle servant à diagnostiquer les personnes pouvant présenter des troubles envahissants du développement. L’accent sera mis sur ce que les cliniciens devraient rechercher lors d’une visite en cabinet pour être en mesure de dépister un TSA, avant de recommander une évaluation plus approfondie.
9 h 55 - 10 h 05 JEU-QUESTIONNAIRE
10 h 05 - 10 h 40 La « garderite » : la toux chronique chez le tout-petit Adam Shapiro, MD Rhumes à répétition et toux qui dure sont courants chez les enfants qui fréquentent les CPE. Quand faut-il pousser plus loin? Cette séance vous proposera une approche pratique des symptômes d’infections virales persistentes chez les bambins selon le point de vue d’un pneumologue.
10 h 40 - 11 h 05 Pause-santé et visite des exposants
11 h 05 - 11 h 40 Endo 911 : désordres endocriniens potentiellement mortels Preetha Krishnamoorthy, MD Oui, les hormones peuvent être mortelles… si certains symptômes ne sont pas décelés assez tôt. Séance consacrée aux troubles endocriniens courants (acidocétose diabétique, hypoglycémie, et insuffisance surrénalienne aiguë) susceptibles d’entraîner de graves effets sur les patients. Accent mis sur une approche utile pour en reconnaître les premiers signes et assurer une rapide stabilisation du trouble endocrinien sous-jacent.
11 h 40 - 11 h 50 JEU-QUESTIONNAIRE
11 h 50 - 12 h 25 Quand, où et quelle quantité? Les preuves derrière l’exposition précoce aux arachides Reza Alizadehfar, MD Même si nous sommes nombreux à avoir entendu parler des avantages d’une exposition précoce aux arachides, peu connaissent les preuves scientifiques derrière ces lignes directrices. Y a-t-il des bienfaits pour tous les enfants? Qu’entend-on par exposition? Et si d’autres allergies sont déjà présentes? Nous nous pencherons sur les réponses à ces questions et sur d’autres problèmes pertinents liés aux arachides.
12 h 25 - 12 h 30 JEU-QUESTIONNAIRE
12 h 30 - 13 h 30 Dîner
13 h 30 - 14 h 05 Dilemmes numériques Sam Freeman, MD Quelles restrictions les parents devraient-ils imposer aux jeunes enfants en matière d’écrans? L’exposition aux appareils numériques dans la petite enfance a-t-elle des effets néfastes durables? Y a-t-il des bienfaits? Au cours de cette séance, nous traiterons de la recherche actuelle sur le temps d’exposition aux écrans du jeune enfant, et des nouvelles lignes directrices de la Société canadienne de pédiatrie afin d’aider les médecins à conseiller les parents sur ce sujet très actuel.
14 h 05 - 14 h 15 JEU-QUESTIONNAIRE
14 h 15 - 14 h 50 Tout ce qui monte doit redescendre : prise en charge du RGO en cabinet Ana Sant'Anna, MD Le reflux gastro-oesophagien est assez fréquent chez les nourrissons. Lorsqu’il s’aggrave, il peut entraîner des problèmes d’alimentation, une perte de poids et le désarroi des parents. À quel moment la régurgitation n’est rien de plus? Quels gestes suggérer? Quand doit-on initier un traitement? Cette séance vous proposera un guide pratique de prise en charge en cabinet du reflux chez le nourrisson.
14 h 50 - 15 h JEU-QUESTIONNAIRE
15 h - 15 h 35 Articles de l’année Stephen Treherne, MD Une présentation que l’on adore! Ne ratez pas cette revue informative et (néanmoins) divertissante des articles de pédiatrie de l’année les plus intéressants et les plus aptes à susciter la réflexion.
15 h 35 - 15 h 45 CONCLUSION ET CUEILLETTE DES FORMULAIRES D’ÉVALUATIONS