Specialty Day : Adolescent Health

February 14, 2018
Montréal Québec

Agenda

Wednesday, February 14, 2018
7:30 - 8:00 Registration and Continental Breakfast
8:00 - 8:10 Introduction and Welcome
8:10 - 8:55 Up in Smoke: The Changing Landscape of Cannabis in Canada and What It Means for Your Patients Richard Bélanger, MD A practical review of burning cannabis issues in the context of current legalization. Topics from medical use in pediatrics to the science behind the use of cannabis on the developing brain in adolescents will be discussed.
8:55 - 9:40 Get the "Skinny" on the New Faces of Eating Disorders Holly Agostino, MD Although most may associate anorexia nervosa with being underweight, a subtype of patients can present with a normal BMI. Learn how to recognize the early signs of this commonly missed diagnosis and intervene appropriately.
9:40 - 10:25 Ovarian Cysts in Adolescents Ian Comeau, MD They can cause PCOS, abdominal pain or simply exist as an incidental finding – but what really needs to be done for a cyst on the ovary? This session will review the necessary follow up, office management and indications to refer for an adolescent presenting with an ovarian cyst.
10:25 - 10:45 BREAK AND VISIT EXHIBITS
10:45 - 11:30 Improving Contraception Uptake and Compliance in Adolescents Giosi Di Meglio, MD As physicians, reducing the rate of teen pregnancy and STIs seems obvious - but how do we get teens involved in this process? This lecture will cover various ways to improve access and patient engagement in the realm of sexual health.
11:30 - 12:15 13 Reasons Why Not: Examining Risk Factors for Adolescent Suicide Jason Bond, MD Media, peers, bullying - teens are often confronted daily by various life struggles, with some tolerating it better than others. Understand the factors at play and learn to recognize suicide risk factors so that you may intervene in a meaningful way with your patients.
12:15 - 13:15 LUNCH
WORKSHOPS - SESSIONS I & II

(Each participant will rank the following workshops in order of areas of interest and each individual will be assigned to participate in 2 workshops on the basis of order of registrations received.)

13:15 - 14:00 SESSION I
A. Between a Rock and a Hard Place: Assuring Adolescent Confidentiality and Consent Suzanne Mac Donald, MD Learn how to navigate the rocky terrain that comes with treating adolescent patients while balancing parental involvement in your practice. This workshop will review the real life application of Québec legislature around the concepts of confidentiality and consent in teens.
  B. Getting into the Motivational Interviewing Spirit with Adolescents in the Office Danit Nitka, PhD Open questions, Affirmation, Reflective listening and Summary reflections (OARS) are the basis for motivational interviewing. This workshop will review how to apply this essential technique to improve your patient alliance.
  C. Where To Go From Here? How to Help Teens Process the Aftermath of Sexual Abuse Franziska Baltzer, MD One in 4 teenage girls are sexually abused, often by a known perpetrator. This workshop will cover the biopsychosocial priorities of care post sexual abuse disclosure of your teen patient. Medicolegal implications such as indications for a medicolegal trousse, how to document, DYP involvement, safety issues, examination, STI testing, preventing pregnancy and STIs, therapeutic interventions and when and where to refer will be discussed.
14:05 - 14:50 SESSION II (repeat of workshops A to C)
14:50 - 15:05 BREAK AND VISIT EXHIBITS
WORKSHOPS - SESSIONS III & IV

(Each participant will rank the following workshops in order of areas of interest and each individual will be assigned to participate in 2 workshops on the basis of order of registrations received.)

15:05 - 15:50 SESSION III
D. Are THEY Trans? Do’s and Don’ts Shuvo Ghosh, MD Youth trans issues are gaining representation in the media and medical curricula; are you up to date? This workshop will review do’s and don’ts when caring for trans youth, discussing topics ranging from trans friendly settings, use of gender neutral and preferred pronouns, gynecological care, hormonal and surgical treatments and fertility issues.
  E. Snap, Crackle, Pop: Office Based Treatments for Common Sports Injuries in Teens Claire LeBlanc, MD, and Elie Wakim Athletic teens can suffer musculoskeletal injuries that are often encountered in the office. This workshop, run by a pediatric sports medicine physician and sports physiotherapist, will focus on the more common injuries seen in adolescent patients. Basic office treatment strategies will be discussed including the role of physical therapy and bracing to enhance recovery for your patients.
  F. Putting Down the Fork, Picking Up the Knife: Assessment of the Severely Obese Teenager Julius Erdstein, MD Childhood and adolescent obesity is one of the most serious public health challenges of the 21st century. This workshop will cover the assessment and treatment options for the severely obese teenager including current surgical interventions and their outcomes. The advantages of a multidisciplinary approach will be discussed as well as the importance of concurrent psychosocial and dietary interventions.
15:55 - 16:40 SESSION IV (repeat of workshops D to F)

Journée annuelle de spécialité : Santé des adolescents

Le 14 février 2018
Montréal Québec

PROGRAMME

Mercredi 14 février 2018
7 h 30 - 8 h Inscription et petit déjeuner continental
8 h - 8 h 10 INTRODUCTION ET MOT DE BIENVENUE
8 h 10 - 8 h 55 Il n’y a pas de fumée sans feu : le contexte changeant du cannabis au Canada et ce qu’il signifie pour vos patients Richard Bélanger, MD Un examen concret des questions brûlantes touchant le cannabis dans le contexte de la légalisation prochaine. Sujets abordés : usage médical en pédiatrie, données scientifiques sur l’usage du cannabis et ses effets sur le cerveau en développement des adolescents.
8 h 55 - 9 h 40 Mince alors ! Je n’y comprends plus rien : l’anorexie atypique Holly Agostino, MD On associe la plupart du temps l’anorexie mentale à l’insuffisance pondérale, mais un sous-type de patients anorexiques peut présenter un indice de masse corporelle normal. Apprenez à reconnaître les signes précoces de ce diagnostic camouflé et à poser les interventions adéquates.
9 h 40 - 10 h 25 Le kyste ovarien chez l’adolescente Ian Comeau, MD Ces kystes peuvent être associés au syndrome des ovaires polykystiques, à des douleurs abdominales ou être simplement une découverte fortuite. Comment doit-on réagir face à la découverte d’un kyste de l’ovaire? Cette séance offre des conseils sur la prise en charge en cabinet d’une adolescente atteinte d’un kyste ovarien, ainsi que sur les indications cliniques pour référer cette patiente en soins spécialisées.
10 h 25 - 10 h 45 Pause-santé et visite des exposants
10 h 45 - 11 h 30 Améliorer le recours à la contraception et l’observance chez les ados Giosi Di Meglio, MD À titre de médecins, diminuer le taux de grossesses non désirées et d’ITS chez les ados nous paraît évident... mais comment convaincre les jeunes de s’impliquer dans ce processus? Cet exposé traitera des diverses façons d’améliorer l’accès et l’engagement des patients dans le domaine de la santé sexuelle.
11 h 30 - 12 h 15 13 raisons de ne pas passer à l’acte : examen des facteurs de risque de suicide chez l’ado Jason Bond, MD Média, pairs, intimidation… les adolescents font face quotidienne - ment à de nombreuses difficultés – certains les surmontent mieux que d’autres. Comprendre les éléments en jeu et apprendre à reconnaître les facteurs de risque de suicide afin de pouvoir intervenir de façon significative auprès de vos jeunes patients.
12 h 15 - 13 h 15 Dîner
ATELIERS – SÉANCE I et II

(Chaque participant classera les ateliers selon ses domaines d’intérêt; deux ateliers seront attribués à chacun, selon l’ordre d’entrée des inscriptions.)

13 h 15 - 14 h SÉANCE I
A. Terrain mouvant : respecter la confidentialité des ados et assurer leur consentement Suzanne Mac Donald, MD Apprendre à négocier le terrain miné qui accompagne la prise en charge de patients adolescents et trouver un équilibre avec l’implication parentale dans votre pratique. Cet atelier s’intéresse à l’application concrète des lois du Québec associées aux concepts de confidentialité et de consentement des adolescents.
  B. Motivation : techniques d’entretien avec les adolescents en consultation Danit Nitka, PhD Questions OUvertes, Valorisation, Écoute réflective et Récapitulations (OUVER) sont les fondements de l’entretien motivationnel. Dans cet atelier, nous passerons en revue la façon d’appliquer cette technique éprouvée pour améliorer la collaboration de vos patients.
  C. Et après? Comment aider les ados à gérer les contrecoups de la violence sexuelle Franziska Baltzer, MD Un quart des adolescentes subit une forme ou une autre de violence sexuelle, souvent de la part de quelqu’un qu’elles connaissent. Cet atelier couvrira les priorités biopsychosociales des soins qui suivent la divulgation d’une agression sexuelle de la part d’une patiente. Implications médicolégales, infos sur la trousse médicolégale, comment documenter le cas, implication de la DPJ, questions de sécurité, examen physique, dépistage pour ITS, prévention de la grossesse et des ITS, interventions thérapeutiques, et savoir où référer les victimes.
14 h 05 - 14 h 50 SÉANCE II (reprise des ateliers A à C)
14 h 50 - 15 h 05 Pause-santé et visite des exposants
ATELIERS – SÉANCE III et IV

(Chaque participant classera les ateliers selon ses domaines d’intérêt; deux ateliers seront attribués à chacun, selon l’ordre d’entrée des inscriptions.)

15 h 05 - 15 h 50 SÉANCE III
D. Sont-ils/elles transgenres? À faire, à éviter Shuvo Ghosh, MD Les questions concernant les jeunes trans sont de plus en plus présentes dans les médias et dans les programmes de médecine. Êtes-vous à jour? Cet atelier fera le point sur ce qu’il faut éviter et sur les bonnes interventions auprès des jeunes transgenres. Sujets traités : environnement convivial pour les personnes transgenres, emploi d’un langage neutre non sexiste et du pronom adopté par l’ado, soins gynécologiques, traitements hormonaux et chirurgicaux, et questions sur la fertilité.
  E. Médecine sportive pédiatrique – Traitement en cabinet des blessures sportives courantes chez l’adolescent Claire LeBlanc, MD, et Elie Wakim En cabinet, on rencontre souvent des blessures musculosquelettiques chez les ados sportifs. Cet atelier donné par un médecin en pédiatrie sportive et physiothérapeute du sport est axé sur les blessures les plus courantes chez les ados. Nous aborderons les stratégies thérapeutiques de base en cabinet, notamment le rôle de la physiothérapie et de la pose d’attelles pour favoriser le rétablissement de vos patients.
  F. Poser la fourchette et sélectionner le couteau : évaluation des adolescents gravement obèses Julius Erdstein, MD L’obésité infantile et juvénile est l’un des enjeux de santé publique les plus graves du 21e siècle. Cet atelier portera sur l’évaluation de l’adolescent gravement obèse et les options de traitement, notamment les interventions chirurgicales et leurs résultats. On discutera des avantages d’une approche multidisciplinaire ainsi que de l’importance des interventions simultanées d’ordre psychosocial et diététique.
15 h 55 - 16 h 40 SÉANCE IV (reprise des ateliers D à F)